1 – Prologue

  1. Day: -6
  2. Weight: 114.0 lbs
Day 1 of Track, 7 days until fasting starts

Day 1 of Track, 7 days until fasting starts, fit and full.

Hello,

So, somehow you must have gotten to this page… Anyway, thank you for visiting. I appreciate it. To start, I am Serbian Eastern Orthodox Christian, and Lent starts later than “normal” Lent this year. Hence the reason why I’ve started a blog. Otherwise, I wouldn’t blog, I find no reason to, with Facebook and Twitter and all.

The first post is always the most difficult, like a paragraph to an essay, or a novel. I have to somehow get a boat load of information to you in a short enough amount of time that you understand but you’re not bored by it.

Anyway, I’m Orthodox, so during “our” Lent, I’m required by religion to go not vegetarian, but Vegan: no meat, no dairy (or anything that comes from an animal). Okay, so that might be a little difficult but no big deal, you may think, but my position is a bit more complicated than that. I have a form of Oral Allergy Syndrome, which means I’m allergic to a lot, specifically anything that comes from a tree: pollen, fruit, vegetables, tree nuts (walnuts, macadamia, etc). But, I’m also allergic to the other fruits and vegetables for some reason; almost anything that grows from the ground and doesn’t go through processing are dangerous (besides lemons, grapes, bananas on a good day, and peanuts, surprisingly [the most widespread allergy around]). So, during my 54 days of fasting, I’m limited to these things:

  • Seafood
  • Shortening containing vegetable ingredients only (a baking ingredient)
  • Margarines containing vegetable ingredients only (a butter substitute)
  • Noodles and pastas NOT made with eggs
  • All-natural grain flours, cornstarch, cocoa powder
  • Rice, wheat, barley, caraway, oats, natural tapioca
  • Hot and cold cereals like corn flakes, puffed wheat and rice, shredded wheat, oatmeal, farina, etc. (but NO milk with them)
  • Peanut butter
  • Some crackers (read the label carefully to make sure they’re vegan)
  • Corn chips, potato chips and popcorn fried in vegetable oil or shortening only (not good with track though, so I stay away from them)
  • Tea, coffee, cider, juices, soft drinks
  • Jellies, jams


    and preserves

Yes, seafood is alright. It has to do with biblical events or something; I don’t really know though. It gets old fast though, my family only makes it a couple ways since they’ve switched to a healthier lifestyle.

I also mentioned track in there. Lent lies directly on Track&Field season, of which I participate in. I am a pole vaulter and I run as well, but my diet prevents me from running as much, due to the effects of not eating a lot. I was diagnosed with Oral Allergy Syndrome (OAS) before the Lent of 2012, so last year was the first I actually experienced the heightened effects of track AND fasting together: weakness and fatigue, unnecessary weight loss (10-12 lbs last year, 5 pant sizes), excessive pain everywhere, other physical problems (hair getting brittle, etc), bruising, decrease in socialization, a dreamy feeling, and other things that I probably forgot.

I’m not looking for sympathy, that’s the last thing I need from the internet. I’m just here to explain… To vent… to write. And not to mention, I want to look back on this at the end of my “journey” in May. I’ll try to include progression pictures, plus updates on my weight and performance in vaulting.

For now, I’ll prepare, stocking cabinets with protein powders, supplements, Ibuprofen, and more. Track started yesterday. This is my last week of meat; next week is my last week of dairy. The week following, I am Vegan until Easter, May 5th, two months from today. I hope you’ll follow my posts and read along as I go.

Oh, and if my English teacher happens to read this, I apologize for my freshman/sophomore level grammar; I don’t plan on writing at my normal college level on this. Thanks 🙂

I’ll leave you with a quote… Quite possibly my favorite quote:

“Your training partner’s name is pain. You start out trying to ignore him. Can’t do it. You attempt to reason with him. No way. You try to strike a bargain. Hah. You plead. You say, ‘Please stop, please go away. I promise never ever to do this again if you just leave me alone.’ But he won’t. Pain only climbs off if you do. Then you’re beaten.”Scott Martin

Leave a Reply

