2 – Meat Fare Sunday… Last Day for Meat

Day: -1

Weight: 114.8 lbs.

Let us eat and drink; for tomorrow we shall die. 
– – – Bible – Isaiah 22:13

The first week is two hours away. I have eaten more this weekend than I have in the past two months… Kidding, but it feels like it. I am beyond bloated at the moment, and it shows in tonight’s photo (which was poorly taken by my multi-tasking sister, thank you Christina). My parents let us choose our last meals tonight, and I, for some reason, craved a hamburger from Five Guys (which I have only eaten from one other time in my life, and it was too long ago to remember how good it is). If you’ve ever eaten there, you know the portion sizes are HUGE. A “little” sized thing of fries is the size of my stomach, and the burger is giant… Probably why the bill for two of us was $25. Needless to say, these first few days should be pretty easy.

This week is simply meat free. It’s not all that difficult; I can have cheese, butter, and milk products as much as I want. I just have to watch for meat. I think the depression of it all hit me today. The mental preparation is really what hurt me today. Last year I had no idea Lent was going to be that difficult until I was experiencing it. This year, I know it’s coming, and I can’t do much about it. It’s like being told you’re going to get surgery, and when you wake up you’re going to feel horrible and in a lot of pain, but taking anything for it is going to hurt. Now that’s a bad comparison, but hopefully you get the picture. Anyway, I actually did get pretty upset today over the whole thing, it frustrated me greatly. Pole vaulting didn’t go well, I had my mind on anything but running and jumping 10 feet into the air.

Today is what we call “The Last Judgement” or “Judgement Sunday”. It’s an emphasis on why we do this, and how when we fast and abstain from certain behaviors for this time period, we are humbling ourselves as greatly as we can, so we may hopefully make it to heaven in the end. I just hope I can keep a positive attitude through the duration of the season. A vaulter I train with always says, “When she is fasting, we’re ALL fasting!” And it’s true; when I don’t have the nutrients, my brain functions differently and I come off as a lot less, well, pleasant. It’s starvation mode, haha look it up sometime.

I’ll leave you for the night, I still have to shower and pack my track bag.

Until next time.

“When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, then he will sit on the throne of his glory. All the nations will be gathered before him, and he will separate people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats, and he will put the sheep at his right hand and the goats at the left. Then the king will say to those at his right hand, ‘Come, you that are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world; for I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you gave me clothing, I was sick and you took care of me, I was in prison and you visited me’.” – Matthew 25: 31-36

Leave a Reply

